One Room Challeng- Week 1: Living Room Makeover

ORC BlueIt’s week 1 of the One Room Challenge and I’m thrilled to be a participate for the first time. I have been a huge fan for years! This event is hosted by the lovely and talented Linda from Calling It Home.

Are you wondering, “What exactly is the one room challenge”? Well, let me explain.  It’s a biannual design event that features interior designers and bloggers as they makeover one room in their home. Every Thursday I will post the progress on the blog and on May 11th you will see the final reveal! Isn’t that sooo exciting?!!! Seriously, I can barely contain my excitement!!! (hence all the exclamation marks)

We have decided to makeover our living room. If you follow me on Instagram or Facebook you already know what kind of situation we are in! Those of you that are finding me for the first time, Welcome! Let me give you a very quick summary. We bought our farmhouse in January of 2016 and have been going through an extensive renovation ever since.  When we finally moved into the home in August we brought only a fraction of our belongings and furniture. The goal was to live with less and take our time buying what we really loved! NO MORE CLUTTER, except laundry, that clutters nearly every room. I’ve tried throwing most of it away but apparently its against the law to go naked.

Now that our kitchen and dining space is nearly 100% complete it’s time to tackle the living room. We literally LIVE in this room everyday!! With three kids, a dog, and lots of family and friends this room gets the most wear and tear.

Below are the BEFORE photos. Right before the walls came down!

9′ ceilings and beautiful trim work. I knew we needed to save her. Not to mention I met my husband in this home nearly 20 years prior.

…and the walls came tumbling down

New insulation and electrical. I also put an outlet above the mantle for Christmas…priorities!

Drywall everywhere! We had planned to shiplap the walls and beadboard the ceiling but my husband decided to injure his back. He is better now, thanks to the chiropractor!

We did shiplap the fireplace. The flooring came from a warehouse sale at only $1.19 per sq.ft..  WINNING!!

fullsizerender-36

Here is the room today. It’s not in bad shape, but it’s time for a makeover that truly reflects our style. The sliding door will stay as it leads into our girls’ art nook. That space will also be part of the makeover.

edited pillows

final bench coffee table

The dark sofa will be replaced with one I found at Ashley Furniture Store. The coffee table (bench) and the rug will move to the front entry. final leather chair with Penny

Our pup, Penelope will stay along with the my favorite leather club chair. This vintage industrial crank table will also stay. It’s one of the few pieces I bought upon moving into the farmhouse.

I created this mood board as a way to organize my choices and share as a sneak peek into the design. Next Thursday I will be sharing all the details and a few progress pictures. Make sure you follow along to stay up to date.

ORC mood board

You don’t want to miss these other amazing makeovers. Click the link and be inspired!Week 1 Guest Participants

Love,

Katrina

 

7 thoughts on “One Room Challeng- Week 1: Living Room Makeover”

Leave a Reply

